PNW Guns Forum
Go Back   PNW Guns > Gun Forum > Auto Rifles

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-05-2011, 11:18 AM   #1
Rifleman
 
Guff's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
From: Bellevue
Posts: 151
Possibly a good deal

I looked over our forum rules and I don't think this violates any of them, so here's what I found; a Springfield M1A Socom 16 on the guns4pennies website. Not sure if anyone is into the online auction thing, but looks like you could get it at a good price. Anyhow if anyone is interested here's the link http://www.guns4pennies.com/auctions...-SOCOM-16-1469 and if you do end up signing up please do mention that Guff refered you in the sign up process so I can get a few more free bids... a solid for a solid.
 
Join PNW Guns


Welcome to PNW Guns, a gun and firearm community for gun owners in the Pacific Northwest. We welcome everyone and the community is free to join so register today and become part of the PNW Guns family!


Old 06-05-2011, 11:46 AM   #2
Sharpshooter
 
FatFugg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
From: Dri-Shities
Posts: 563
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guff View Post
I looked over our forum rules and I don't think this violates any of them, so here's what I found; a Springfield M1A Socom 16 on the guns4pennies website. Not sure if anyone is into the online auction thing, but looks like you could get it at a good price. Anyhow if anyone is interested here's the link http://www.guns4pennies.com/auctions...-SOCOM-16-1469 and if you do end up signing up please do mention that Guff refered you in the sign up process so I can get a few more free bids... a solid for a solid.
I click your link & it goes to their site & says "not found"!
 
Old 06-05-2011, 11:59 AM   #3
Gunslinger
 
Joined: May 2011
From: Tacoma
Posts: 63
That's a cool site. I signed up. Put guff as the referal too.
 
Old 06-05-2011, 12:36 PM   #4
Rifleman
 
TheRedSkull's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2011
From: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by 68shooter View Post
That's a cool site. I signed up. Put guff as the referal too.
be sure to let us know if it actually works...
 
Old 06-05-2011, 05:06 PM   #5
Rifleman
 
Guff's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
From: Bellevue
Posts: 151
I initially saw it (website) in the current Guns & Ammo, so I'm guessing it's legit.
 
Old 06-05-2011, 05:08 PM   #6
Marksman
 
reppinthe509's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
From: Spokane
Posts: 423
hm..seems kinds sketchy. an XDM for 15 bucks?
 
Old 06-05-2011, 05:18 PM   #7
Marksman
 
reppinthe509's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
From: Spokane
Posts: 423
nevermind, i got it
 
Old 06-05-2011, 05:34 PM   #8
Rifleman
 
Guff's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
From: Bellevue
Posts: 151
You won the auction?
 
Old 06-05-2011, 05:42 PM   #9
Marksman
 
Nutty4Guns's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2011
From: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRedSkull View Post
be sure to let us know if it actually works...
I am pretty sure it's legit and works, but how many 1.00 bids do you burn through and how much time sitting in front of the puter babysitting the auction is what I would like to know.
 
Old 06-05-2011, 06:46 PM   #10
Gunslinger
 
Joined: May 2011
From: Tacoma
Posts: 63
Someone won a scar for less then forty bucks. Just don't play till the end I think that's what everyone else does.
 
Old 06-06-2011, 12:27 PM   #11
Marksman
 
reppinthe509's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
From: Spokane
Posts: 423
yeah but everytime you up the bid at the last second it goes back to 30 seconds. idk i saw that go back and forth a lot. no i didnt win. i just didnt get how it worked.
 
Old 06-06-2011, 01:00 PM   #12
Gunslinger
 
Joined: May 2011
From: Tacoma
Posts: 63
I was watching a springfield xdm go on for awhile. It was already up at I think 20 bucks. I'm going to try it on gear or something.
 
Old 06-06-2011, 01:05 PM   #13
Rifleman
 
TheRedSkull's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2011
From: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 204
yeah, until someone from here posts a show and tell of a winning bid im not sold on it.
 
Old 06-06-2011, 08:03 PM   #14
Rifleman
 
Joined: Aug 2009
From: WA
Posts: 120
The way sites like that usually work is they charge you money to put in a bid. It usually goes a little something like this...

Starting bid: $0.01
Bid increment: $0.01
Charge to you to place a bid: $0.25

By the time the item is up to $1.00, people have paid in $25 in bid fees.
By the time the item is up to $10, people paid $250 in aggregate.

Your bet is that you'll be the last person in.
The seller's bet is that enough people will bid to make a profit off the bidding fees.
The site's bet... well the site doesn't bet. They scrape money right off the top from the transactions.

By the time the "auction" is over, people have usually paid well over the cost of the item, collectively speaking.

It CAN be an awesome deal, but you've gotta know your limits before you get into a bidding system like that. I'd call it more of a type of gambling than an auction.

I find the tag-line on the following image to be quite accurate for how this type of business plan works:

 
Old 06-07-2011, 02:22 PM   #15
Rifleman
 
TheRedSkull's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2011
From: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Booga View Post
The way sites like that usually work is they charge you money to put in a bid. It usually goes a little something like this...

Starting bid: $0.01
Bid increment: $0.01
Charge to you to place a bid: $0.25

By the time the item is up to $1.00, people have paid in $25 in bid fees.
By the time the item is up to $10, people paid $250 in aggregate.

Your bet is that you'll be the last person in.
The seller's bet is that enough people will bid to make a profit off the bidding fees.
The site's bet... well the site doesn't bet. They scrape money right off the top from the transactions.

By the time the "auction" is over, people have usually paid well over the cost of the item, collectively speaking.

It CAN be an awesome deal, but you've gotta know your limits before you get into a bidding system like that. I'd call it more of a type of gambling than an auction.

I find the tag-line on the following image to be quite accurate for how this type of business plan works:

yeah thats kind of what i figured.

seems semi-pyramid scheme-like, i will pass...

instead i will keep trading online with people on forums...
 
Reply

  PNW Guns > Gun Forum > Auto Rifles


Thread Tools
Display Modes



Facebook @pnwguns PNW Guns RSS Feed

Top Gun Sites Top Sites List

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright © 2009 - 2010 PNW Guns. All rights reserved.